Kilimanjaro, Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater and Zanzibar - Tanzania at its best. Karibu is the Swahili word for “Welcome” to this land of discovery. Officially the United Republic of Tanzania, this diverse Southern African country borders 8 other African countries and offers everything from vast wilderness areas, including the Serengeti National Park and Ngorongoro Conservation Area, to mountainous regions with dense forests where the Kilimanjaro National Park with Africa’s highest mountain is situated, and the tropical islands of the Zanzibar archipelago just offshore, teeming with culture, historical sites and fantastic scuba diving or snorkelling spots in the warm Indian Ocean on the Swahili Coast as well as long, white sandy beaches, turquoise waters, marine protected areas, coral reefs and a wide range of accommodation for a holiday in paradise – such as superb hotels and luxury tented safari lodges to name a few.

Seven World Heritage Sites are located in this country: Ngorongoro Conservation Area in the Arusha Region; Serengeti National Park in the Arusha and Mara Regions; Kilimanjaro National Park; Ruins of Kilwa Kisiwani and Songo Mnara; Selous Game Reserve - Iringa and Morogoro Regions; Kondoa Rock-art sites and Stone Town which is part of Zanzibar City and the historic trade centre of the main island of Unguja, better known as Zanzibar Island, with Swahili and Islamic influences, colourful aromatic spices, mosques, winding alleys and intricately carved wooden doors as well as the House of Wonders (Beit al-Ajaib), a sultan’s palace from the 19th century.

The myriad of outdoor activities include hiking and climbing Mount Kilimanjaro as well as game viewing of huge, annually migrating wildebeest and zebra herds in the Big 5 safari destinations of the Serengeti and the Ngorongoro area, with its volcanic Ngorongoro Crater and highlands for spectacular trekking trips and much more.

Two of Africa's great lakes lie partly within Tanzania such as the continent's largest lake, Lake Victoria, and Lake Tanganyika. The latter is the deepest African lake and home to unique fish species. A third lake, Lake Nyasa, borders the country in the South-West. While Dar es Salaam is the country's largest city, the capital of Tanzania is Dodoma. Over 100 different languages are spoken in this African country! However, Swahili - also known as Kiswahili, and English are the two official languages.

Tanzania Map & Destinations

tanzania mapTanzania Map & Destinations



Important Traveller Notice - Ban on plastic bags

The Government of Tanzania advises travellers to the country that, from 01 June 2019, all plastic carrier bags, regardless of thickness, will be prohibited from being imported, exported, manufactured, sold, stored, supplied and used in Tanzania.

This excludes plastic packaging for medical services, industrial products, construction industry, agricultural sector, foodstuffs, sanitary and waste management.

Visitors to the country are advised to avoid carrying plastic carrier bags or packing plastic bags or items in plastic carrier bags in suitcases or hand luggage. Special desks will be present at all entry points for the surrender of plastic carrier bags that visitors bring into Tanzania.

‘Ziploc bags’ specifically used to carry toiletries will, however, be permitted as they are expected to remain in the permanent possession of visitors, and are not expected to be disposed in the country.

The Government says it does not wish to make visitors’ stay in Tanzania unpleasant as it enforces the ban, but appreciates your understanding of the country’s imperative to protect the environment and keep the country clean and beautiful.

Climate Tanzania

Climate Tanzania

Go to top